Is Salzburg really the 'little sister' of Vienna? That's what makes the city so worth seeing.

Art, culture and many great sights. Salzburg is one of the most beautiful baroque cities in Europe. The birthplace of Mozart fascinates with narrow alleys and wide squares in the old town. Besides the world-famous Salzburg Festival, the city offers interesting and exciting occasions for a trip at any time of the year.

  • Travel period: 2 days
  • Best time to travel: May to October
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

Salzburg Airport is directly approached from many European cities. From here you can take the bus lines 2 or 15 to the city centre. The main railway station is only 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Tourist Information are located at the main station and in the city centre (Mozartplatz). 

Hotel

We recommend the IMLAUER Hotel PITTER* (including 15% discount on your hotel booking, ad). The 4-star superior hotel is located near the Mirabell Garden. The rooms are spacious and stylishly furnished. The breakfast on the 6th floor is a highlight.

Places of interest

The Hohensalzburg Castle is almost 1000 years old. It is the largest completely preserved castle in Central Europe and is a landmark of Salzburg. Just like parts of the old town, the castle is a UNESCO world heritage site. The prince's rooms are worth seeing. The furnishings are original and have remained unchanged since 1501. One of the highlights is the multimedia magic theatre. The visitors can immerse themselves in the royal world.

The famous composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was born in Salzburg in 1756. In his honour there is a statue of him on Mozartplatz . In Mozart’s birth house you can find out even more interesting facts about the musician's life's work. In addition, the Salzburg Festival takes place every year and is considered the world's most important festival of classical music and performing arts.

Mozart lives on here in form of Mozart Balls. They have been produced manually according to the original recipe for over 130 years by Fürst Confectionery (ad). In the café in the old town you can treat yourself to a coffee with a delicious Mozart ball.

Advertising

With one admission ticket (included in the SalzburgCard; ad) you can discover the DomQuartier Salzburg with its four museums - a cultural highlight in the heart of the old town.

On Getreidegasse you will find many international shops, historical inns and many traditional costume shops. At the end of the Getreidegasse you go directly to the Mönchsberg elevator . The elevator has been in operation since 1890 and will take you to the top in 30 seconds, from where you have a great view of the city. Especially in the afternoon the lift is worth the trip. Here you will also find the Museum of Modern Art with many exciting temporary exhibitions.

The Mirabell Palace with the world-famous Mirabell Garden is only a few meters away from the Imlauer Hotel Pitter. The marble hall in the palace is considered one of the most beautiful wedding halls in the world.

Advertising

The Stiegl brewery is a traditional estate. You could taste all kinds of beer here all day long. In addition, there is pretzel with Obazda - a great snack!

Speaking of food: In Salzburg you must try the Austrian cuisine. In the Braurestaurant Imlauer (ad) the choice is really huge. Our recommendation is the original Wiener Schnitzel (veal) and Tafelspitz (beef). For dessert you have to take Kaiserschmarn or Salzburger Nockerln. Simply delicious!

A good alternative is the Italian restaurant taste.it (Advertising).

Do you have time for a crazy palace? The Hellbrunn Palace is a place of experience just as it was over 400 years ago. Mystical grottos, water-powered figures and treacherous splashing fountains can be found here. You'll definitely get wet!

Schloss Hellbrunn theTravellers
Hellbrunn Palace, Salzburg
Advertising

Getting around in Salzburg

The Salzburg's old town can be explored on foot. But the public transport is also very well developed. You will need it if you want to go on an excursion to the surroundings of Salzburg, for example to Hellbrunn Palace.

With the Salzburg Card (ad) available for 24, 48 or 72 hours) you have free entry to many of Salzburg's sights and you can take the bus and train free of charge.

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places in the surroundings of Salzburg. Munich for example, is only 90 minutes from Salzburg. Book your car now under the following link:

In Salzburg the people are super friendly and the food simply delicious. But you have to be careful with all the goodies that you don't go back home two kilos heavier :D
theTravellers Story Blogger
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Slovenia in 5 minutes

Slovenia – the only country with “love” in its name. The trendy capital Ljubljana, the Mediterranean feeling in Koper, the traditional wine cellars in Maribor, and beautiful natural landscapes like the Triglav National Park make your trip to Slovenia perfect. The small country with only two million inhabitants is more diverse than you think!
Ljubljana in 5 Minuten Reiseblog theTravellers

Ljubljana in 5 minutes

Ljubljana is one of the secret top destinations in Europe. Ljubljana is the green capital of Slovenia. Beautiful parks, a historic cityscape and youthful energy - we take you on a journey through the...
Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 minutes

Is Salzburg really the 'little sister' of Vienna? That is what makes the city so worth seeing: art, culture and many great sights. Salzburg is one of the most beautiful baroque cities in Europe. The birthplace...
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Cologne in 5 minutes

Cologne is the cathedral city - and also our home town. The traces of a 2000-year history lead you through a picturesque old town with the famous Cologne Cathedral and the Love-Lock-Bridge, which crosses the...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Ist Salzburg wirklich die kleine Schwester von Wien? Das macht die Stadt so sehenswert.

Kunst, Kultur und viele tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten. Salzburg zählt zu den schönsten Barockstädten in Europa. Der Geburtsort von Mozart begeistert mit den engen Gassen und weiten Plätzen der Altstadt. Neben den weltberühmten Salzburger Festspielen bietet die Stadt zu jeder Jahreszeit interessante und spannende Anlässe für einen Trip.

  • Reisedauer: 2 Tage
  • Beste Reisezeit: Mai bis Oktober
  • Hauptgericht: 15 €

Anreise

Salzburg Flughafen wird von vielen europäischen Städten direkt angeflogen. Der Flughafen ist sehr übersichtlich. Von hier fährst du mit den Buslinien 2 oder 15 in die Innenstadt. Der Hauptbahnhof ist fußläufig 15 Minuten von der Innenstadt entfernt. Tourist-Infos gibt es am Hauptbahnhof sowie im Stadtzentrum (am Mozartplatz). 

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das IMLAUER Hotel PITTER* (inkl. 15% Rabatt auf deine Hotel-Buchung; Werbung). Das 4-Sterne superior Hotel liegt in der Nähe des Mirabellgartens. Die Zimmer sind großräumig und stilvoll eingerichtet. Das Frühstück im 6. Stock ist ein echtes Highlight.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Die Festung Hohensalzburg ist fast 1000 Jahre alt. Sie ist die größte vollständig erhaltene Burg Mitteleuropas und Wahrzeichen von Salzburg. Ebenso wie weite Teile der Altstadt, gehört die Festung zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Besonders sehenswert sind die Fürstenzimmer. Die Ausstattung ist original und seit 1501 unverändert. Zu den Höhepunkten zählt auch ein multimediales magisches Theater. Dort können die Besucher in die royale Welt eintauchen.

Der berühmte Komponist Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wurde 1756 in Salzburg geboren. Zu seinen Ehren befindet sich am Mozartplatz eine Statue von ihm. Im Geburtshaus von Mozart erfährst du noch mehr Interessantes aus dem Lebenswerk des Musikers. Zudem finden jedes Jahr die Salzburger Festspiele statt, sie gelten als das weltweit bedeutendste Festival der klassischen Musik und darstellenden Kunst.

Ein Stück Mozart steckt auch in den berühmten Mozartkugeln. Sie werden seit über 130 Jahren von der Konditorei Fürst (Werbung) nach dem Originalrezept manuell hergestellt. Im Café in der Altstadt gönnst du dir am besten einen „Kleinen Braunen“ sowie eine leckere Mozartkugel.

Anzeige

Mit einer Eintrittskarte (oder kostenfrei mit der SalzburgCard; Werbung) kannst du das DomQuartier Salzburg mit seinen vier Museen entdecken – ein Kultur-Highlight im Herzen der Altstadt.

Auf der Getreidegasse findest du neben vielen internationalen Geschäften auch geschichtsträchtige Gasthöfe sowie viele Trachtenläden. Am Ende der Getreidegasse gehst du direkt auf den Mönchsbergaufzug zu. Der Aufzug ist seit 1890 in Betrieb und bringt dich in 30 Sekunden nach oben, von wo du einen super Panoramablick auf die Stadt bekommst. Besonders am Nachmittag lohnt sich die Auffahrt. Hier befindet sich auch das Museum der Moderne mit vielen spannenden Wechselausstellungen.

Das Schloss Mirabell mit dem weltberühmten Mirabellgarten liegt nur wenige Meter vom Imlauer Hotel Pitter entfernt. Der Marmorsaal im Schloss gilt als einer der schönsten Trauungssäle der Welt. Der Mirabellgarten ist mit seinen wunderschönen, bunten Blumen ein echter Besuchermagnet.

Anzeige

Die Stiegl-Brauerei ist ein Traditionshaus. Du könntest dich hier den ganzen Tag durch alle Biersorten probieren. Dazu gibt es Laugenbrezel mit Obazda – ein super Snack für Zwischendurch!

Wenn wir schon über das Essen reden: In Salzburg musst du dich unbedingt durch die österreichische Küche probieren. Im Braurestaurant Imlauer (Werbung) ist die Auswahl wirklich sehr groß. Unsere Empfehlung ist das Original Wiener Schnitzel (vom Kalb) sowie der Tafelspitz (vom Rind). Zum Nachtisch gibt’s natürlich Kaiserschmarn oder Salzburger Nockerln. Einfach lecker!

Eine gute (südländische) Alternative ist das italienische Restaurant taste.it (Werbung).

Hast du noch Zeit für ein verrücktes Lustschloss? Das Schloss Hellbrunn ist mit seinen Wasserspielen ein Erlebnisort wie vor über 400 Jahren. Mystische Grotten, wasserbetriebene Figuren und tückische Spritzbrunnen gibt es hier. Du wirst auf jeden Fall nass!

Schloss Hellbrunn theTravellers
Schloss Hellbrunn, Salzburg
Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Salzburg

Die Salzburger Altstadt kannst du zu Fuß erkunden. Die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel sind sehr gut ausgebaut. Die wirst du brauchen, wenn du mal einen Ausflug in die Umgebung von Salzburg machen möchtest, zum Beispiel zum Schloss Hellbrunn.

Mit der Salzburg Card (Werbung; erhältlich für 24, 48 oder 72 Stunden) hast du freien Eintritt in viele Salzburger Sehenswürdigkeiten und du kannst kostenfrei Bus und Bahn fahren.

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte in der Umgebung von Salzburg erkunden. München ist zum Beispiel nur anderthalb Stunden von Salzburg entfernt. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Salzburg ist traumhaft schön und die Menschen superfreundlich. Man muss aber bei den ganzen Leckereien aufpassen, dass man nicht zwei Kilo schwerer nach Hause zurückkehrt 😀
theTravellers Story Blogger
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten

Slowenien – ein Land, das darauf wartet, entdeckt zu werden. Die trendy Hauptstadt Ljubljana, das mediterrane Feeling in Koper, die traditionellen Weinkeller in Maribor, und wunderschöne Naturlandschaften wie der Triglav…
Ljubljana in 5 Minuten Reiseblog theTravellers

Ljubljana in 5 Minuten

Ljubljana gehört zu den Secret Top-Destinationen in ganz Europa. Ljubljana ist die grüne Hauptstadt von Slowenien. Wunderschöne Parkanlagen, ein historisches Stadtbild und jugendhafte Energie – wir nehmen Dich auf einen…
Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 Minuten

Ist Salzburg wirklich die kleine Schwester von Wien? Das macht die Stadt so sehenswert: Kunst, Kultur und viele tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten. Salzburg zählt zu den schönsten Barockstädten in Europa. Der Geburtsort…
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Köln in 5 Minuten

Köln ist die Domstadt – und auch unsere Heimatstadt. Die Spuren einer 2000-jährigen Geschichte führen dich durch eine malerische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Kölner Dom und der Liebesschlossbrücke, die die…
de_DE
en_GB de_DE