In the Ruhr area industrial culture meets nature.

The Ruhr area is one of the most diverse regions in Germany. Hundreds of industrial monuments reflect the past and are today impressive places for culture and leisure. And the best thing is: You can visit many sights free of charge.

  • Travel duration: 3 days
  • Best time to travel: from May to September
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

The Essen main railway station is the most important traffic junction in the Ruhr area, with direct connections to many German cities. From Düsseldorf Airport you can reach Essen easily by regional train or S-Bahn.

Hotel

We recommend the Hotel the niu Cobbles* in Essen. The trendy accommodation in industrial design is located only a few minutes' walk from the underground station and Essen main railway station. An alternative is the GHOTEL hotel & living Essen*.

Places of interest

In ESSEN the Zeche Zollverein is known as the "Eiffel Tower of the Ruhr Area". Once the largest coal mine in the world, it was closed in 1986 and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2001 as a total work of art. Information about the varied cultural programm, light installations and ticket prices for the museums can be found on their website. You can visit the site free of charge at any time.

You can take a free journey through art history at the Museum Folkwang for modern and contemporary art, which presents an extensive collection of paintings, statues, photographs and posters. Nearby you will find the grill and burger restaurant 200g, which uses regional organic meat and offers vegetarian & vegan dishes.

The historic Margarethenhöhe was the first garden city in Germany and is worth a visit. It is located in the south of Essen near the Grugapark, a botanical garden with numerous works of art and sports facilities, a nice zoo as well as theatre and music events at weekends.

The Baldeneysee is a reservoir of the Ruhr and a great area to relax. Here you can spend a whole day. Seaside Beach offers a Caribbean feeling with bars, palm trees and white sand. A boat trip or a canoe tour can also be relaxing. The cycle and foot path around the lake is 14 kilometers long. There is a bike and inline skate rental near the dam wall. Villa Hügel above the lake was once the home of the Krupp family and is a symbol of the age of industrialisation in Germany.

Advertising

In DUISBURG you can climb, dive and party on the grounds of the former ironworks. The Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord offers a lot of variety with a large adventure playground, a hall for skating and biking and a learning farm with various animals. On weekends, light installations provide magical lighting of the former blast furnaces in the evenings. The visit is free day and night.

In the Duisburg's inner harbour (Innenhafen) , you will find many restaurants and bars between glittering office complexes and nostalgic storage rows. The Bolero Bar offers a huge selection of cocktails, but also many vegetarian dishes.

The Duisburger Zoo has gained worldwide attention with its koala babies. In spacious facilities animals from all continents live here. There is a dolphin show, too.

In the XXL Moonlight 3D Minigolf black light provides an extraordinary minigolf experience. On weekends it is even open until midnight. We recommend an online reservation.

Tiger & Turtle – Magic Mountain is a walk-on roller coaster sculpture, which is illuminated in the evening and can be visited at anytime for free.

Advertising

In OBERHAUSEN there has been the largest gas tank in Europe for over 90 years. The Gasometer is today an extraordinary place for art and the highest exhibition hall in Europe. In the glass elevator you can ride up. CentrO nearby is the largest shopping centre in Europe. During the winter season the beautiful Christmas market attracts many visitors. Parking is for free here. The Sealife advertises with Germany's largest shark breeding and more than 5.000 sea animals. A glass tunnel brings you through the huge ocean basin, where you can also take a ride in a glass-bottom boat.

In BOTTROP you can see the Tetraeder. The steel pyramid is free to walk on and it is illuminated at night. Nearby is the Alpincenter with the world's longest indoor ski hall and exciting outdoor attractions such as a summer toboggan run, a high rope climbing garden, Air Jump and the highest beer garden in the area.

Advertising

In DORTMUND , the Phoenix West blast furnace plant invites you to a guided Skywalkwhere you can learn a lot about industrial heritage and enjoy a fantastic view. We recommend booking tickets online. In the beer hall of the Bergmann Brewery freshly brewed beer is offered for tasting. The German Football Museum  is located directly at Dortmund's main station and is very distinctive with its modern architecture. Here you can discover over 140 years of German football history. The Dortmunder U was once the warehouse of the Union Brewery. Today it is a center for art and creativity and the city's landmark.

BOCHUM is famous for the Musical Starlight Expresswhich has been performed for over 30 years. But also in the planetarium you can get to different worlds far away. 9.000 shining stars on a huge dome turn day into night. In the Botanical Garden you can relax and observe the plants growing. Highlights are the Chinese Garden, the giant water lilies and the desert house. The entrance is free.

Advertising

Transport in the Ruhr Area

The Ruhr area has a dense network of cycle paths of more than a thousand kilometers. This includes the Ruhr Valley Cycle Route. Have a look here for the digital cycle route .

The The Rhine-Ruhr Transport Association VRR has a dense network of routes. The 24-/48-hour ticket is worthwhile from the 3rd journey onwards.

All available parking spaces including prices can be found via Parkopedia.

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places in the west of Germany. If you don't feel like using public transport in the Ruhr area, or want to see Düsseldorf and Cologne you can book your car now by clicking on the following link:

The industrial monuments in the Ruhr area remind us of the hard work of the past. I grew up in the Ruhr area and still enjoy the buildings today.
Cengiz Ünal theTravellers
Cengiz
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Lübeck in 5 Minuten

Lübeck in 5 minutes

Lübeck is a world cultural heritage site and gateway to the Baltic Sea. Maritime flair and delicious fish, freedom and relaxation. You will find all this in Lübeck. Travemünde is very popular with its extensive beach. The...
Heidelberg in 5 Minuten

Heidelberg in 5 minutes

Heidelberg is a historical university town in Baden-Württemberg. The former Electoral Palatinate residential town of Heidelberg is known for its picturesque old town on the Neckar, the imposing Heidelberg Castle and the longest pedestrian zone in Europe....
Ruhrgebiet in 5 Minuten

Ruhr area in 5 minutes

In the Ruhr area industrial culture meets nature. The Ruhr area is one of the most diverse regions in Germany. Hundreds of industrial monuments reflect the past and are today impressive places for culture and leisure...
Düsseldorf in 5 Minuten

Düsseldorf in 5 minutes

Düsseldorf stands for fashion, lifestyle and Altbier. In Düsseldorf you can let yourself be inspired by the longest bar in the world or stroll along Königsallee for window shopping. However, Düsseldorf has...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Im Ruhrgebiet verschmelzen Industriekultur und Natur.

Das Ruhrgebiet ist eine der vielfältigsten Regionen in Deutschland. Hunderte Industriedenkmäler spiegeln die Vergangenheit wider und sind heute eindrucksvolle Orte für Kultur und Freizeit. Und das Beste: Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten kannst du kostenlos besuchen.

  • Reisedauer: 3 Tage
  • Beste Reisezeit: Mai bis September
  • Hauptgericht: 15 €

Anreise

Der Essener Hauptbahnhof ist der wichtigste Verkehrsknotenpunkt im Ruhrgebiet, mit Direktverbindungen in viele deutsche Städte. Vom Flughafen Düsseldorf erreichst du Essen bequem mit der Regionalbahn oder S-Bahn.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das Hotel the niu Cobbles* in Essen. Die trendige Unterkunft im Industrial Design liegt nur wenige Gehminuten von der U-Bahn-Station und dem Essener Hauptbahnhof entfernt. Eine Alternative dazu ist das GHOTEL hotel & living Essen*.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

In ESSEN ist die Zeche Zollverein als „Eiffelturm des Ruhrgebiets“ bekannt. Die einst größte Steinkohlenzeche der Welt wurde 1986 stillgelegt und ist als Gesamtkunstwerk seit 2001 UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Infos zum vielseitigen Kulturprogramm, gelegentlichen Lichtinstallationen und Ticketpreise für die Museen findest du auf der Webseite. Auf das Gelände kannst du jederzeit umsonst.

Eine kostenlose Reise durch die Kunstgeschichte erwartet dich im Museum Folkwang für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, das eine umfangreiche Sammlung an Gemälden, Statuen, Fotografien und Plakaten präsentiert. In der Nähe findest du das Grill- und Burgerrestaurant 200g, das regionales Bio-Fleisch verwendet und auch vegetarische & vegane Speisen anbietet.

Die denkmalgeschützte Siedlung Margarethenhöhe war die erste Gartenstadt in Deutschland und es lohnt sich ein Rundgang. Sie liegt im Essener Süden nahe dem Grugapark, einem Botanischen Garten mit zahlreichen Kunstwerken und Sportangeboten, einem Streichelzoo sowie Theater- und Musikveranstaltungen am Wochenende.

Der Baldeneysee ist ein Stausee der Ruhr und ein großartiges Erholungsgebiet. Hier kannst du locker einen ganzen Tag verbringen. Einen Hauch von Karibik hat die Seaside Beach mit Bars, Palmen und weißem Sand. Entspannend sind auch eine Bootsrundfahrt oder eine Kanutour. Der Rad- und Fußweg rund um den See beträgt 14 Kilometer. Einen Fahrrad- und Inlineskateverleih gibt es nahe der Staumauer. Die Villa Hügel oberhalb des Sees war einst das Wohnhaus der Unternehmerfamilie Krupp und ist ein Symbol für das Zeitalter der Industrialisierung Deutschlands.

Anzeige

In DUISBURG kannst du auf dem Gelände des stillgelegten Hüttenwerks klettern, tauchen und feiern. Der Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord bietet viel Abwechslung mit einem großen Abenteuerspielplatz, einer Halle zum Skaten und Biken sowie einem Lernbauernhof mit diversen Tieren. Am Wochenende sorgen Lichtinstallationen abends für eine magische Beleuchtung der ehemaligen Hochöfen. Der Besuch ist Tag und Nacht frei.

Im Duisburger Innenhafen mischen sich zwischen glitzernde Bürokomplexe und nostalgische Speicherzeilen Restaurants und Bars mit Hafenblick. Die Bolero Bar bietet eine grandiose Auswahl an Cocktails und hat auch viele vegetarische Speisen im Angebot.

Der Duisburger Zoo hat mit seiner Koalazucht weltweite Aufmerksamkeit erlangt. Großzügige Anlagen beherbergen Tiere aus allen Kontinenten. Die Delfinshow dient nicht nur der Beschäftigung der Tiere, du lernst auch etwas dabei.

Im XXL Moonlight 3D Minigolf sorgt Schwarzlicht für ein außergewöhnliches Minigolf-Erlebnis. Am Wochenende ist es sogar bis Mitternacht geöffnet. Wir empfehlen dir eine Online-Reservierung.

Tiger & Turtle – Magic Mountain ist eine begehbare Achterbahn-Skulptur auf der Halde Heinrich-Hildebrand-Höhe, die am Abend beleuchtet ist und jederzeit kostenlos besucht werden kann.

Anzeige

In OBERHAUSEN befindet sich seit über 90 Jahren der einst größte Gasbehälter Europas. Das Gasometer ist heute ein außergewöhnlicher Ort für Kunst und die höchste Ausstellungshalle in Europa. Im gläsernen Aufzug fährst du bis unter die Kuppel. Das CentrO in der Nähe ist das größte Einkaufszentrum von Europa. In der Adventszeit zieht der wunderschöne Weihnachtsmarkt viele Besucher an. Das Parken ist hier umsonst. Das Sealife wirbt mit Deutschlands größter Hai-Aufzucht und über 5.000 Meeresbewohnern. Ein Glastunnel führt durch das riesige Ozeanbecken, auf dem du auch eine Fahrt im Glasbodenboot machen kannst.

In BOTTROP steht der Tetraeder. Die Stahlpyramide ist kostenlos begehbar und ihre Spitze wird nachts beleuchtet. Auf der Halde nebenan liegt das Alpincenter mit der weltweit längsten Skihalle und spannenden Outdoor-Attraktionen wie einer Sommerrodelbahn, dem Hochseilklettergarten, Air Jump und dem höchsten Biergarten des Reviers.

Anzeige

In DORTMUND erwartet dich das Hochofenwerk Phoenix West mit einem geführten Skywalk, auf dem du viel über die Industriekultur erfährst und eine fantastische Aussicht genießen kannst. Tickets empfehlen wir online zu reservieren. In der Stehbierhalle der Bergmann Brauerei wird frisch gebrautes Bier zum Verkosten angeboten. Das Deutsche Fußballmuseum  liegt direkt am Dortmunder Hauptbahnhof und ist mit seiner modernen Architektur sehr markant. Hier entdeckst du über 140 Jahre deutsche Fußballgeschichte. Das denkmalgeschützte Dortmunder U war einst das Lagerhaus der Unionsbrauerei. Heute ist es ein Zentrum für Kunst und Kreativität und das Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

BOCHUM ist berühmt für das Musical Starlight Express, das seit über 30 Jahren aufgeführt wird. Im Planetarium kannst du den Alltag komplett vergessen und ferne Welten kennenlernen. Neuntausend leuchtende Sterne auf einer riesigen Kuppel machen den Tag zur Nacht. Im Botanischen Garten der Ruhr-Universität kannst du wunderbar entspannen. Highlights sind der Chinesische Garten, die Riesenseerosen und das Wüstenhaus. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung im Ruhrgebiet

Das Ruhrgebiet hat ein dichtes Radwegenetz von mehr als tausend Kilometern. Dazu zählt auch der Ruhrtal-Radweg. Den digitalen Radtourenplaner.Ruhr gibt es online.

Der Verkehrsverbund Rhein-Ruhr VRR hat ein dichtes Streckennetz. Das 24-/48-Stunden-Ticket lohnt sich ab der 3. Fahrt, in der Preisstufe D sogar schon ab der zweiten.

Zu allen freien Parkplätzen inklusive Preisangabe gelangst du über Parkopedia.

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du weitere schöne Orte im Westen Deutschlands erkunden. Wenn du keine Lust auf öffentliche Verkehrsmittel im Ruhrgebiet hast, oder Düsseldorf und Köln bereisen willst, buchst du am besten jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Die Industriedenkmäler im Ruhrgebiet erinnern an die harte Arbeit von früher. Ich bin im Ruhrgebiet aufgewachsen und finde die Bauten noch heute faszinierend.
Cengiz Ünal theTravellers
Cengiz
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten

Slowenien – ein Land, das darauf wartet, entdeckt zu werden. Die trendy Hauptstadt Ljubljana, das mediterrane Feeling in Koper, die traditionellen Weinkeller in Maribor, und wunderschöne Naturlandschaften wie der Triglav…
Ljubljana in 5 Minuten Reiseblog theTravellers

Ljubljana in 5 Minuten

Ljubljana gehört zu den Secret Top-Destinationen in ganz Europa. Ljubljana ist die grüne Hauptstadt von Slowenien. Wunderschöne Parkanlagen, ein historisches Stadtbild und jugendhafte Energie – wir nehmen Dich auf einen…
Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 Minuten

Ist Salzburg wirklich die kleine Schwester von Wien? Das macht die Stadt so sehenswert: Kunst, Kultur und viele tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten. Salzburg zählt zu den schönsten Barockstädten in Europa. Der Geburtsort…
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Köln in 5 Minuten

Köln ist die Domstadt – und auch unsere Heimatstadt. Die Spuren einer 2000-jährigen Geschichte führen dich durch eine malerische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Kölner Dom und der Liebesschlossbrücke, die die…
de_DE
en_GB de_DE