New York is a city that never sleeps.

Big lights, loud everywhere, a real melting pot. New York is a megacity where people from all over the world live together. We show you highlights!

We answer the questions whether you need a New York Pass, which Metro ticket is the best and which hotel you can book for New York. Brooklyn Bridge, Roosevelt Island, Staten Island Ferry, Statue of Liberty, Ground Zero and beautiful observation decks in New York, Rockefeller Center (Top of the Rock) or Empire State Building? Check out all New York highlights in 5 minutes.

  • Travel period: 5 days
  • Best time to travel: April/May/June & September/October
  • Main dish: 25 €

Arrival

To get to New York, you can use two airports : JFK Airport has better connections to the city than Newark Airport. . Find out in advance how to get to the city. The public transportation network is not well-developed, however, there are shuttle services to the city. A ride with Uber is a good alternative.

Hotel

New York is an expensive destination. The best thing is not to book a hotel directly in Manhattan, but in the neighborhoods of Queens or Brooklyn. The hotels here are usually cheaper. We recommend Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott *. With the Metro it is only ten minutes to Manhattan.

Places of interest

New York is a very expensive city, so you should consider in advance which museums and viewpoints you want to visit: We recommend Top of the Rock  as an observation deck, as from here, you can see the Empire State Building and also the Central Park .

The Wall Street is one of the most famous streets in the world. Discover New York's banking district on your own. From Battery Park nearby you have one of the best views of the Manhattan skyline. The best time to come here is in the morning, when the sun is perfect!

The Christopher Street is considered the birthplace of the gay rights movement. It's where New York's LGBT community meets.

The Times Square is the place to be. Thousands of people come here at all hours of the day. Here you will find shops with the latest trends and bizarre characters on display. Tip: At Shake Shack you get tasty burgers at a fair price - be sure to try them!

Advertising

The Grand Central Terminal is the largest train station in the world. The entrance hall, which you probably know from many movies, is really unique.

Ground Zero is a place to pause. Right next to it is the 9/11-Museum. There you can see parts of the original Twin Towers; a really emotional experience. A few meters away is the new One World Trade Center. At over 540 meters, it is the tallest building in the city.

The Central Park is really huge. You can explore the park on foot. However, if you want to see more, we recommend you rent a bike. At Levain Bakery we had the best cookies we have ever eaten!

The High Line Park is one of the most extraordinary parks in New York. From here you have a beautiful city panorama and fantastic views of the Hudson River.

Attention, an insider tip is coming! From the Press Lounge in the west of Manhattan you have a great view of all of New York. The entrance is free, the cocktail prices are quite high. Especially at sunset it's still worth a visit, because there are very few tourists here!

Advertising

Transport in New York

The fastest way to get from A to B in New York is by subway.. Already from the second day it is good to take a weekly ticket. Important: In all Metro stations you have Wifi. You do not even have to register for the service.

Rental car

You certainly don't need a rental car for New York. But with a rental car you can easily explore the surroundings of New York individually. Book your car now under the following link:

The yellow cabs, the skyscrapers and streets that you know from movies. At every corner you know you're in New York.
David Siemetzki theTravellers Feedback
David
USA Travel Expert
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Slovenia in 5 minutes

Slovenia – the only country with “love” in its name. The trendy capital Ljubljana, the Mediterranean feeling in Koper, the traditional wine cellars in Maribor, and beautiful natural landscapes like the Triglav National Park make your trip to Slovenia perfect. The small country with only two million inhabitants is more diverse than you think!
Ljubljana in 5 Minuten Reiseblog theTravellers

Ljubljana in 5 minutes

Ljubljana is one of the secret top destinations in Europe. Ljubljana is the green capital of Slovenia. Beautiful parks, a historic cityscape and youthful energy - we take you on a journey through the...
Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 minutes

Is Salzburg really the 'little sister' of Vienna? That is what makes the city so worth seeing: art, culture and many great sights. Salzburg is one of the most beautiful baroque cities in Europe. The birthplace...
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Cologne in 5 minutes

Cologne is the cathedral city - and also our home town. The traces of a 2000-year history lead you through a picturesque old town with the famous Cologne Cathedral and the Love-Lock-Bridge, which crosses the...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

New York ist eine Stadt, die nie schläft.

Große Lichter, überall laut, ein echter Melting Pot. New York ist eine Megacity, in der Menschen aus der ganzen Welt zusammen leben. Wir zeigen dir die Highlights der Stadt!

Wir beantworten die Fragen, ob Du einen New York Pass benötigst, welches Metro-Ticket das beste ist und welches Hotel Du für New York buchen kannst. Brooklyn Bridge, Roosevelt Island, Staten Island Ferry, Freiheitsstatue, Ground Zero und schöne Aussichtsplattformen in New York. Rockefeller Center (Top of the Rock) oder Empire State Building? Schau Dir jetzt alle New York Highlights in 5 Minuten an.

  • Reisedauer: 5 Tage
  • Beste Reisezeit: April/Mai/Juni oder September/Oktober
  • Hauptgericht: 25 €

Anreise

Um nach New York zu kommen, kannst du zwei Flughäfen nutzen: Das JFK-Airport ist besser angebunden als der Newark Airport. Informiere dich vorab, wie du am besten in die Stadt kommen möchtest. Das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz ist nicht gut ausgebaut, es gibt Shuttle-Services in die Stadt. Eine Fahrt mit Uber ist eine gute Alternative.

Hotel

New York ist eine teure Destination. Am besten buchst du ein Hotel nicht direkt in Manhattan, sondern in den Vierteln Queens oder Brooklyn. Diese sind meistens günstiger. Wir empfehlen das Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott *. Mit der Metro sind es nur zehn Minuten nach Manhattan.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

New York ist eine sehr teure Stadt, deshalb solltest du im Vorfeld überlegen, welche Museen und Aussichtspunkte du besuchen möchtest: Wir empfehlen Top of the Rock  als Aussichtsplattform, weil du von hier aus sowohl das Empire State Building als auch den Central Park sehen kannst.

Die Wall Street ist eine der berühmtesten Straßen der Welt. Entdecke auf eigene Faust New Yorks Bankenviertel. Vom Battery Park in der Nähe hast du den besten Blick auf die Skyline von Manhattan. Am besten kommst du vormittags hierhin, dann steht die Sonne perfekt!

Die Christopher Street gilt als Geburtsort der Schwulenrechtsbewegung. Hier trifft sich die LGBT-Community in New  York.

Der Times Square ist the place to be. Zu jeder Tageszeit tummeln sich hier tausende Menschen. Hier findest du Shops mit den neuesten Trends und skurrile Gestalten, die sich zur Schau stellen. Tipp: Bei Shake Shack gibt es leckere Burger zum fairen Preis – unbedingt probieren!

Anzeige

Der Grand Central Terminal ist der größte Bahnhof der Welt. Die Eingangshalle, die du wahrscheinlich aus vielen Filmen kennst, ist wirklich einzigartig.

Ground Zero ist ein Ort zum Innehalten. Direkt daneben befindet sich das 9/11-Museum. Dort kannst du Teile der ursprünglichen Twin Towers anschauen; eine wirklich sehr emotionale Erfahrung. Wenige Meter weiter befindet sich das neue One World Trade Center. Mit über 540 Metern ist es das höchste Gebäude der Stadt.

Der Central Park ist wirklich riesengroß. Du kannst den Park zu Fuß erkunden. Wenn du allerdings mehr sehen möchtest, empfehlen wir dir, ein Fahrrad zu leihen. Bei Levain Bakery gibt es die besten Cookies, die wir je gegessen haben!

Der High Line Park ist einer der wohl außergewöhnlichsten Parks in New York. Von hier aus hast du ein schönes Stadtpanorama und einen fantastischen Blick auf den Hudson River.

Achtung, es kommt ein Geheimtipp! Von der Press Lounge im Westen von Manhattan hast du einen super Blick auf ganz New York. Der Eintritt ist frei, die Cocktailpreise sind ziemlich hoch. Gerade bei Sonnenuntergang lohnt sich der Besuch trotzdem, weil hier sehr wenige Touristen sind!

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in New York

Die schnellste Möglichkeit, um in New York von A nach B zu kommen, ist die Metro. Schon ab dem zweiten Tag lohnt es sich, eine Wochenkarte zu nehmen. Wichtig: In allen Metrostationen hast du W-LAN. Du musst dich für den Service nicht mal anmelden.

Mietwagen

Einen Mietwagen brauchst du für New York sicherlich nicht. Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du aber die Umgebung von New York ganz bequem individuell erkunden. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Die gelben Taxis, die Wolkenkratzer und Straßenzüge, die man aus Filmen kennt. An jeder Ecke merkst du, dass du in New York bist.
David Siemetzki theTravellers Feedback
David
USA Reisen Experte
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Köln in 5 Minuten

Köln ist die Domstadt – und auch unsere Heimatstadt. Die Spuren einer 2000-jährigen Geschichte führen dich durch eine malerische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Kölner Dom und der Liebesschlossbrücke, die die…
Bonn in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Bonn in 5 Minuten

Bonn ist eine Museums- und Wissenschaftsstadt. Die ehemalige Bundeshauptstadt Bonn beherbergt so viele bedeutende Museen wie kaum eine andere Stadt in Deutschland. Zudem ist die Universitätsstadt UN-Standort und die Geburtsstadt…
Stuttgart in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Stuttgart in 5 Minuten

Stuttgart – Autoträume zwischen Reben und Maultaschen: Umgeben von Weinbergen ist Stuttgart der Sitz von gleich zwei großen deutschen Automarken. Die Tallage von Stuttgart bietet viele Ausflugsmöglichkeiten in die höher…
Hannover in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Hannover in 5 Minuten

Hannover ist nicht nur Messestadt, sondern auch perfekt für einen Kurztrip. Farbenfroh, kunstvoll und von Naturoasen umgeben zeigt sich Hannover, und überrascht uns mit dem roten Faden, grünen Ring, blauen…
de_DE
en_GB de_DE