Heidelberg is a historic university town.

The former royal city Heidelberg is known for its picturesque old town, the impressive Heidelberg Castle and the longest pedestrian zone in Europe. From the Königstuhl and the Philosophenweg you can expect fantastic views.

  • Travel period: 2 days
  • Best time to travel: June to September
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

From Frankfurt International Airport you can reach Heidelberg in 45 minutes by train or car. The tourist information can be found in Heidelberg at the main railway station and in the old town.

Hotel

We recommend the Hotel Meininger*. The 3-star accommodation is located about ten minutes' walk from the main railway station and about two kilometers from the old town. A tram stop is nearby. Parking spaces are available for a fee. Another well-recommended hotel is the Star Inn*.

Places of interest

InHeidelberg, there is the oldest university in Germany; it is located on the longest pedestrian zone of Europe. In the museum, founded in 1386, you will get an exciting tour of its history from the era of the Palatinate Electors through the Romantic period, the Third Reich and up to the present day. With a combined ticket you can also visit the magnificent auditorium and the Karzer, the historic student prison. Afterwards you will reach the market place, which is framed by historic houses, the town hall and the Holy Spirit Church. In its centre there is the Hercules Fountain.

Next to that there is the Kornmarkt . Here you will find the valley station of the Heidelberg mountain railway. The lower cable car first takes you to the Heidelberg Castle, which you can visit for a fee or at least enjoy the beautiful view of the city for free. You reach the Molkenkur station, where you change to the historic original car from 1907, which takes you up to the Königstuhl . From the 567-metre-high mountain you have a fantastic view over the Neckar and the Rhine plain, and on a clear day even as far as Alsace. Here you will find signposted hiking trails, a falconrya café with regional specialities and for children a fairytale paradise

Advertising

A beautiful circular trail is the Philosophers' Trail, one of the most beautiful trails in Europe. From the old town you take the Theodor-Heuss-Bridge and in a few minutes you are in the countryside. The Philosophers' Trail offers a magnificent view of the old town, the castle and the Neckar. Halfway along the way you can relax in the Philosophers' Garden among exotic plants. The signposted Schlangenweg leads downhill to the Old Bridge "Alte Brücke", a landmark of Heidelberg. The medieval bridge gate was once part of the city wall.

There are also some culinary highlights in Heidelberg. At Diller Schneeballenträume you can eat a 300-years-old speciality which is rolled in sugar or cinnamon, covered with a delicious glaze and with various fillings. The Heidelberg Sugar Shop awaits you with colourful sweets from all over the world and in the Heidelberg Candy Factory you can watch the handmade gourmet sweets being made.

The Heidelberger Kulturbrauerei taps the beer of your choice into a bottle to go. „Seppl“ serves the specialties of the brewery kitchen at antique wooden tables. The historic student restaurant Zum Roten Ochsen entices with hearty German cuisine and a museum-like interior. The Essighaus serves hearty home cooking, vegetarian and seasonal dishes. Here you can eat the most delicious Spätzle and Sauerbraten of Heidelberg. And schnitzels in a hundred variations are available at the Heidelberg Schnitzelhaus „Alte Münz“.

Advertising

Transport in Heidelberg

The old town is closed to car traffic and can be explored on foot. Heidelberg has been awarded several times as a bicycle-friendly city . Under the Theodor-Heuss-Bridge there is a next bike rental station .

If you want to use public transport: The day ticket is worth it from the 3rd ride on. Information and route maps are available here. All available parking spaces including prices can be found link.  

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places in the area. Frankfurt is only one hour from Heidelberg by car and Stuttgart just a little bit further. Book your car now under the following link:

Heidelberg is the perfect city for young people. There are many ERASMUS students at the university.
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Cologne in 5 minutes

Cologne is the cathedral city - and also our home town. The traces of a 2000-year history lead you through a picturesque old town with the famous Cologne Cathedral and the Love-Lock-Bridge, which crosses the...
Bonn in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Bonn in 5 minutes

Bonn is a city of museums and science. The former federal capital Bonn is home to more important museums than almost any other city in Germany. In addition, the university city is a UN location and the birthplace of the...
Stuttgart in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Stuttgart in 5 minutes

Stuttgart - Car dreams between vineyards and Maultaschen: Surrounded by vineyards, Stuttgart is the home of two major German car brands. The valley location of Stuttgart offers many possibilities for excursions to the higher...
Hannover in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Hanover in 5 minutes

Hannover is not only a trade fair city, but also perfect for a short trip. Hanover is colourful, artistic and surrounded by natural oases, and surprises us with its red thread, green ring, blue ring, blue ring...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Heidelberg  ist eine historische Universitätsstadt in Baden-Württemberg.

Die ehemalige kurpfälzische Residenzstadt Heidelberg ist bekannt für ihre malerische Altstadt am Neckar, das imposante Heidelberger Schloss und die längste Fußgängerzone in Europa. Vom Königstuhl und dem Philosophenweg erwarten dich traumhafte Aussichten.

  • Reisedauer: 2 Tage
  • Beste Reisezeit: Juni bis September
  • Hauptgericht: 15 €

Anreise

Vom internationalen Flughafen Frankfurt erreichst du Heidelberg in 45 Minuten mit der Bahn oder dem Auto. Die Touristeninformation findest du in Heidelberg am Hauptbahnhof und in der Altstadt.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das Hotel Meininger*. Die 3-Sterne-Unterkunft liegt etwa zehn Gehminuten vom Hauptbahnhof und rund zwei Kilometer von der Altstadt entfernt. Eine Straßenbahnhaltestelle ist in der Nähe. Parkplätze stehen gegen Gebühr zur Verfügung. Eine schöne Alternative ist das Star Inn*.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

An der längsten Fußgängerzone von Europa liegt die älteste Universität von Deutschland. Im Museum der 1386 gegründeten Universität folgst du einem spannenden Rundgang über ihre Geschichte von der Epoche der Pfälzer Kurfürsten über die Romantik, das Dritte Reich bis zur Gegenwart. Mit einem Kombiticket kannst du auch die prächtige Aula und den Karzer, das historische Studentengefängnis, besichtigen. Anschließend gelangst du zum Marktplatz, der von historischen Häusern, dem Rathaus und der Heiliggeistkirche eingerahmt wird. In seiner Mitte steht der Herkulesbrunnen.

Am angrenzenden Kornmarkt mit dem Muttergottesbrunnen befindet sich die Talstation der Heidelberger Bergbahn. Die untere Bergbahn fährt zunächst zum Heidelberger Schloss, das du besichtigen oder kostenlos die schöne Aussicht auf die Stadt genießen kannst. Weiter geht es bis zur Station Molkenkur, wo du in den historischen Originalwagen von 1907 umsteigst, der dich hinauf zum Königstuhl bringt. Von dem 567 Meter hohen Berg hast du einen fantastischen Blick über den Neckar und die Rheinebene, bei klarem Wetter sogar bis ins Elsass. Hier erwarten dich ausgeschilderte Wanderwege, eine Falknerei, ein Café mit regionalen Spezialitäten und für Kinder ein Märchenparadies

Anzeige

Ein schöner Rundweg ist der Philosophenweg, einer der schönsten Höhenwege in Europa. Von der Altstadt nimmst du die Theodor-Heuss-Brücke und bist in wenigen Minuten im Grünen. Der Philosophenweg bietet eine grandiose Aussicht auf die Altstadt, das Schloss und den Neckar. Auf halber Strecke kannst du im Philosophengarten zwischen  exotischen Pflanzen entspannen. Der ausgeschilderte Schlangenweg führt abwärts zur Alten Brücke, einem Wahrzeichen von Heidelberg. Das mittelalterliche Brückentor war einst Teil der Stadtmauer.

In Heidelberg kannst du viele kulinarische Highlights entdecken. Beim Schneeballenkönig Diller gibt es die 300 Jahre alte Spezialität in Zucker oder Zimt gewälzt, mit einer leckeren Glasur überzogen und mit diversen Füllungen. Der Heidelberger Zuckerladen erwartet dich mit kunterbunten Süßigkeiten aus vielen Ländern und in der Heidelberger Bonbon Manufaktur kannst du bei der Herstellung der handgemachten Gourmet-Bonbons zuschauen.

Die Heidelberger Kulturbrauerei zapft dir das Bier deiner Wahl in eine Flasche zum Mitnehmen. Die Spezialitäten der Brauhausküche serviert der „Seppl“ an antiken Holztischen. Das historische Studentenlokal Zum Roten Ochsen lockt mit schwäbischer Küche und einer musealen Einrichtung. Das Essighaus serviert deftige Hausmannskost, vegetarische und saisonale Gerichte. Hier gibt es die besten Spätzle und den besten Sauerbraten von ganz Heidelberg. Schnitzel in hundert Variationen gibt es im Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus „Alte Münz“.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung im Heidelberg

Die Altstadt ist für den Autoverkehr gesperrt und kann fußläufig erkundet werden. Heidelberg wurde mehrmals als fahrradfreundliche Kommune ausgezeichnet. Unter der Theodor-Heuss-Brücke befindet sich neben der Nextbike-Fahrradverleihstation sogar ein Radselfservice.

Wenn du öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen möchtest: Das Tages-Ticket lohnt sich schon ab der 3. Fahrt. Infos und Streckennetzpläne gibt es hier. Alle freien Parkplätze inklusive Preisangabe findest du unter diesem Link.  

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte in der Umgebung erkunden. Frankfurt ist nur eine Stunde und Stuttgart nur anderthalb Stunden entfernt. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Heidelberg ist eine tolle Stadt für junge Leute. An der Universität sind superviele ERASMUS-Studenten.
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Köln in 5 Minuten

Köln ist die Domstadt – und auch unsere Heimatstadt. Die Spuren einer 2000-jährigen Geschichte führen dich durch eine malerische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Kölner Dom und der Liebesschlossbrücke, die die…
Bonn in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Bonn in 5 Minuten

Bonn ist eine Museums- und Wissenschaftsstadt. Die ehemalige Bundeshauptstadt Bonn beherbergt so viele bedeutende Museen wie kaum eine andere Stadt in Deutschland. Zudem ist die Universitätsstadt UN-Standort und die Geburtsstadt…
Stuttgart in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Stuttgart in 5 Minuten

Stuttgart – Autoträume zwischen Reben und Maultaschen: Umgeben von Weinbergen ist Stuttgart der Sitz von gleich zwei großen deutschen Automarken. Die Tallage von Stuttgart bietet viele Ausflugsmöglichkeiten in die höher…
Hannover in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Hannover in 5 Minuten

Hannover ist nicht nur Messestadt, sondern auch perfekt für einen Kurztrip. Farbenfroh, kunstvoll und von Naturoasen umgeben zeigt sich Hannover, und überrascht uns mit dem roten Faden, grünen Ring, blauen…
de_DE
en_GB de_DE