Hamburg is Germany's gateway to the world.

Hamburg is our favourite city in whole Germany. Why? We show you now on this page and in our video "Hamburg in 5 minutes". Our Favourites: Elbphilharmonie, Speicherstadt and Reeperbahn. But the city has much more to offer.

  • Travel period: 2 days
  • Best time to travel: April to October (in May the harbour birthday is celebrated)
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

The Airport of Hamburg is about 25 minutes away from the city centre by S-Bahn. A good alternative is the ridesharing model Moia.

The main railway station of Hamburg from Berlin in less than two hours! From Frankfurt or Cologne the journey by train takes about four hours.

Hotel

Hamburg is a city with many options for places to stay. It is best to take a hotel in St. Pauli. Then you won't have to drive so far in the evening after the party. We slept in the ARCOTEL *. From the S-Bahn stop "Reeperbahn" it is only five minutes to the city center.

Places of interest

Start your trip to Hamburg typically with a boat tour. The tours start at the Landungsbrücken. Our tip: It's best to buy a day ticket and take the public transport boats. You can take the 62 line to Finkenwerder and back.

The fish market in Altona attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world every Sunday morning. The "Elbtunnel" leads twelve meters under the water from one side to the other.

The Elbphilharmonie Concert Hall is Hamburg's new landmark. Called "Elphi" for short, the building combines tradition and modernity. Admission to the viewing platform is free of charge.

International trade made Hamburg a rich city very early on. During a guided tour through the city hall you will learn exciting facts about the history of the city.

Advertising

The Speicherstadt was once the largest warehouse in the world. Today it is mainly offices - and the Miniature Wonderlandthe world's largest model railway layout. The cool thing here is that you can set things in motion yourself. A must for young and old! Afterwards you can enjoy a fresh coffee in the afternoon in the Speicherstadt Kaffeerösterei. You can try coffees from all over the world.

Our culinary tip for Hamburg: FranzbrötchenA compressed croissant filled with sugar and cinnamon. Supertasty! But there are many other varieties with different tastes. this page you can find out where the best Franzbrötchen are in Hamburg. Portuguese-Hispanic quarter you can get delicious food at fair prices. It's best to reserve your table during the day.

Then you can go straight to a Musical . By boat, for example to The Lion King. The musical has been in Hamburg since 2001. Or you go directly to St. Pauli. The Reeperbahn is the biggest party mile in Germany.

These two sights are also worth seeing: Zoo Hagenbeck (half an hour away from the city centre) and the city park Planten un Blomen. The park is open every day, the entrance is free.

Advertising

Getting around in Hamburg

In the city centre of Hamburg you can reach many sights on foot. However, some highlights are a bit outside. You can reach them easily by underground or S-Bahn. It is best to buy a 9 o'clock day ticket. Tip: A group ticket (valid for up to 5 people) is worthwhile for groups of 2 or more. For more information here.

Rental car

With a rental car you can easily explore the surroundings of Hamburg individually, for example Bremen or Hannover. Book your car now under the following link:

Hamburg inspires with its maritime flair. You can eat the best fish sandwiches here.
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Slowenien in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Slovenia in 5 minutes

Slovenia – the only country with “love” in its name. The trendy capital Ljubljana, the Mediterranean feeling in Koper, the traditional wine cellars in Maribor, and beautiful natural landscapes like the Triglav National Park make your trip to Slovenia perfect. The small country with only two million inhabitants is more diverse than you think!
Ljubljana in 5 Minuten Reiseblog theTravellers

Ljubljana in 5 minutes

Ljubljana is one of the secret top destinations in Europe. Ljubljana is the green capital of Slovenia. Beautiful parks, a historic cityscape and youthful energy - we take you on a journey through the...
Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 minutes

Is Salzburg really the 'little sister' of Vienna? That is what makes the city so worth seeing: art, culture and many great sights. Salzburg is one of the most beautiful baroque cities in Europe. The birthplace...
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Cologne in 5 minutes

Cologne is the cathedral city - and also our home town. The traces of a 2000-year history lead you through a picturesque old town with the famous Cologne Cathedral and the Love-Lock-Bridge, which crosses the...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Hamburg ist Deutschlands Tor zur Welt.

Hamburg ist unsere Lieblingsstadt in ganz Deutschland. Warum? Das zeigen wir dir auf dieser Seite und in unserem Video „Hamburg in 5 Minuten“. Unsere Favourites: Elbphilharmonie, Speicherstadt und Reeperbahn. Die Stadt hat aber viel mehr zu bieten.

  • Reisedauer: 2 Tage
  • Beste Reisezeit: April bis Oktober (Im Mai wird Hafengeburtstag gefeiert)
  • Hauptgericht: 15 €

Anreise

Der Flughafen von Hamburg ist etwa 25 Minuten mit der S-Bahn von der Innenstadt entfernt. Eine gute Alternative ist das Ridesharing-Modell Moia.

Den Hauptbahnhof von Hamburg erreichst du von Berlin aus in weniger als zwei Stunden! Von Frankfurt oder Köln dauert die Fahrt etwa vier Stunden.

Hotel

Hamburg ist eine Stadt mit vielen Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten. Am besten nimmst du dir ein Hotel in St. Pauli. Dann brauchst du am Abend nach der Party nicht so weit zu fahren. Wir waren im ARCOTEL *. Von der S-Bahn-Haltestelle „Reeperbahn“ sind es nur fünf Minuten in die Innenstadt.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Starte deinen Hamburg-Trip ganz typisch mit einer Bootstour. Die Touren starten an den Landungsbrücken. Unser Tipp: Kauf dir am besten ein Tagesticket und fahre mit den Booten des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs. Mit der Linie 62 kannst du bis nach Finkenwerder hin- und zurückfahren.

Der Fischmarkt in Altona lockt jeden Sonntagmorgen tausende Besucher aus der ganzen Welt. Der Elbtunnel führt zwölf Meter unter dem Wasser von der einen zur anderen Seite.

Die Elbphilharmonie ist das neue Wahrzeichen von Hamburg. Kurz „Elphi“ genannt, verbindet das Gebäude Tradition und Moderne. Der Eintritt auf die Aussichtsplattform ist gratis.

Der internationale Handel machte Hamburg sehr früh zu einer reichen Stadt. Bei einer Führung durch das Rathaus erfährst du Spannendes über die Geschichte der Stadt.

Anzeige

Die Speicherstadt war mal das größte Warenlager der Welt. Heute sind hier überwiegend Büros – und das Miniatur-Wunderland: die größte Modelleisenbahnanlage der Welt. Das Coole hier ist, dass du selbst Dinge in Bewegung setzen kannst. Ein Muss für Jung und Alt! Danach genießt du am Nachmittag einen frischen Kaffee in der Speicherstadt Kaffeerösterei. Du kannst Kaffeesorten aus der ganzen Welt probieren.

Unser kulinarischer Tipp für Hamburg: Franzbrötchen. Ein zusammengedrücktes Croissant, das mit Zucker und Zimt gefüllt ist. Mega lecker! Inzwischen gibt es aber auch viele weitere verschiedene Sorten. Auf dieser Seite erfährst du, wo es in Hamburg die besten Franzbrötchen gibt. Im portugiesisch-spanischen Viertel bekommst du leckere Speisen zu fairen Preisen. Du solltest den Tisch am besten schon tagsüber reservieren.

Danach kannst du direkt zu einem Musical fahren. Mit dem Boot geht’s zum Beispiel zu König der Löwen. Das Musical ist seit 2001 in Hamburg. Oder du fährst direkt nach St. Pauli. Die Reeperbahn ist die größte Partymeile Deutschlands.

Sehenswert ist auch der Tiergarten Hagenbeck (30 Minuten von der Innenstadt entfernt), sowie der Stadtpark Planten un Blomen. Der Park hat jeden Tag geöffnet, der Eintritt ist frei.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Hamburg

In der Innenstadt von Hamburg kannst du viele Sehenswürdigkeiten fußläufig erreichen. Manche Highlights liegen jedoch ein wenig außerhalb. Diese erreichst du ganz bequem mit der U-Bahn oder der S-Bahn. Kauf Dir am besten ein 9-Uhr-Tagesticket. Tipp: Schon ab 2 Personen lohnt sich ein Gruppenticket (gültig für bis zu 5 Personen) – weitere Infos hier.

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du die Umgebung von Hamburg ganz bequem individuell erkunden. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Hamburg begeistert mit maritimem Flair. Die besten Fischbrötchen gibt es hier auch!
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Salzburg in 5 Minuten

Ist Salzburg wirklich die kleine Schwester von Wien? Das macht die Stadt so sehenswert: Kunst, Kultur und viele tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten. Salzburg zählt zu den schönsten Barockstädten in Europa. Der Geburtsort…
Salzburg Gewinnspiel theTravellers

Gewinnspiel

Nimm am aktuellen theTravellers-Gewinnspiel teil und mit etwas Glück gehörst du zu den Gewinnern.
Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Köln in 5 Minuten

Köln ist die Domstadt – und auch unsere Heimatstadt. Die Spuren einer 2000-jährigen Geschichte führen dich durch eine malerische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Kölner Dom und der Liebesschlossbrücke, die die…
Bonn in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Bonn in 5 Minuten

Bonn ist eine Museums- und Wissenschaftsstadt. Die ehemalige Bundeshauptstadt Bonn beherbergt so viele bedeutende Museen wie kaum eine andere Stadt in Deutschland. Zudem ist die Universitätsstadt UN-Standort und die Geburtsstadt…
de_DE
en_GB de_DE