Frankfurt am Main - big business and cider.

Skyscrapers next to half-timbered houses, magnificent parks, exciting museums and ever-changing views of the „Mainhattan“ skyline. Strong contrasts and phenomenal viewing terraces await you in Frankfurt.

The World in 5 Minutes – Schönes Deutschland | Book 1

This is our Book for the video. It is the perfect addition for Frankfurt and other popular cities in Germany.

Arrival

From Frankfurt International Airport the S-Bahn S8 and S9 take you via Frankfurt Central Station to the Old Town in 20 minutes.

Hotel

We recommend Hotel The Frankfurt*. This 4-star accommodation is located just a few minutes' walk from Frankfurt Central Station. A good alternative is Moxy Frankfurt City Center* in the old town. The tourist information are located at the main station and in the old town.

Places of interest

The centre of the historic old town is the Römerberg. The historical market place is surrounded by picturesque half-timbered houses and the Römer . It has been the town hall and a landmark of Frankfurt for over 600 years. Many Roman-German kings were elected in the Kaisersaal . Frankfurt's past as a coronation city is also remembered by the imperial St Bartholomew Cathedral with changing exhibitions. In the St Paul’s Church the German National Assembly created the first democratic constitution for Germany in 1848. Inside you can see exhibitions on the history of the church as well as a 32-meter wide mural painting by the artist Johannes Grützke.

Frankfurt is the home town of the German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The Goethehaus tells about the life of the poet with the original furnishings and an exhibition. From the panorama terrace Sky Lounge of Galeria you have a magnificent view of the Hauptwache, the former police station, and the old town. Nearby are the magnificent Alte Oper and the Frankfurt Stock Exchange. The sculptures bull and bear on the stock exchange square stand for rising and falling stock prices.

Advertising

On the shopping street Zeil , you will find the shopping mall MyZeil. One of the longest escalators in Europe takes you up to the 8th floor, from where you have a beautiful view of Mainhattan . InKalbächer Gasseyou will find mainly grocery stores and restaurants. You can taste and buy regional and international specialities daily except Sundays at the Kleinmarkthalle . A hot Frankfurt beef sausage to go is common here. You can also go shopping in the Europaviertel in the Skyline Plaza. From Skyline Garden on the roof you see the tower of Frankfurt fair.

The bridge Eiserner Steg was built in 1869 and connects Frankfurt's old town with the Sachsenhausendistrict and the hip party district on the Museumsufer. We recommend the Städel Museum, which shows 700 years of European art history, from the 14th century to the present. Two traditional cider bars are Zum Gemalten Haus and Apfelwein Wagner, which, in addition to "Ebbelwoi", serve typical Frankfurt specialties such as the legendary Green Sauce , Handkäs' mit Musik (funny name!) and ribs with cabbage . Fromthe bridges you will get new perspectives on the Mainhattan Skyline with its skyscrapers, which you can also see in the evening light. From the viewing platform of the Main Tower in the financial district you can overlook the city from a height of 200 meters.

Advertising

Show the world that you are in Frankfurt.

The Frankfurter Zoo is considered the second oldest zoo in Germany. In Frankfurt's West End, there are three huge gardens side by side and form the green lung of the city. The Grüneburgpark with cycle paths, playgrounds and sunbathing areas is open all year round and freely accessible. The botanical garden is characterized by its diverse biotopes and the cultivation of endangered plant species. It is open from March to the end of October and is also free of charge. You will find tropical greenhouses and theme gardens in the noble palm garden, which you can visit all year round.

Advertising

Getting around in Frankfurt

The old town on foot. cycling in the surrounding area is ideal on the banks of the Main, in the parks and around Frankfurt with around 70 kilometers of cycle paths.

If you want to use public public transport the day ticket is profitable from the second trip onwards. This link will help you find a parking space

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places in the area. Heidelberg is only one hour away. Book your car now via the following link:

Mainhattan skyline remembers us of New York. For a comparison, you should definitely come to Frankfurt.
theTravellers Thomas und Cengiz
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers

New articles in the travel blog

Lüttich in 5 Minuten

Liège in 5 minutes

Liège, a city in Belgium. A lifestyle. Liège is located in the heart of Europe and just an hour away from Brussels or Cologne. And there is everything here for a perfect weekend trip. We show you our highlights in our video Liège in 5 minutes.
Aachen in 5 Minuten

Aachen in 5 minutes

Aachen is one of our top 10 cities in Germany and worth a visit. Aachen Cathedral is world-famous. And so are the tasty Printen. Aachen is located at the border triangle of Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany. Because of this location, you can feel Europe everywhere you go. We are theTravellers and show you Aachen in 5 minutes.
Münster in 5 Minuten

Münster in 5 minutes

Münster is a destination for young people. The city has been honoured several times for its high quality of life. Most people travel here by bike, for example on the five-kilometer-long promenade or around the lake "Aasee".
Helsinki in 5 Minuten

Helsinki in 5 minutes

Helsinki is the capital of Finland. The lively city in the north of Europe has a lot to offer: With its many saunas, beautiful islands and large green parks, Helsinki is truly worth seeing. During your trip you will experience true hospitality and very relaxed and happy Finns.

Frankfurt am Main – Big Business und Apfelwein.

Wolkenkratzer neben Fachwerkhäusern, dazwischen großartige Parks, spannende Museen und immer wieder neue Blickwinkel auf die Mainhattan-Skyline. In Frankfurt erwarten dich starke Kontraste und phänomenale Aussichtsterrassen.

Anreise

Vom Frankfurt Airport fahren die S-Bahnen S8 und S9 über den Frankfurter Hauptbahnhof in 20 Minuten bis in die Altstadt.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das Hotel The Frankfurt*. Die 4-Sterne-Unterkunft liegt nur wenige Gehminuten vom Frankfurter Hauptbahnhof entfernt. Eine Alternative ist das Moxy Frankfurt City Center* in der Altstadt. Die Tourist-Informationen liegen am Hauptbahnhof und in der Altstadt.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Das Zentrum der historischen Altstadt ist der Römerberg. Der historische Marktplatz wird von malerischen Fachwerkhäusern und dem Römer umrundet. Er ist seit über 600 Jahren das Rathaus und ein Wahrzeichen der Mainmetropole. Im Kaisersaal wurden viele römisch-deutsche Könige gewählt. An die Vergangenheit Frankfurts als Krönungsstadt erinnert auch der Kaiserdom St. Bartholomäus mit wechselnden Ausstellungen. In der Paulskirche schuf die Deutsche Nationalversammlung 1848 die erste Demokratische Verfassung für Deutschland. Im Inneren kannst du neben Ausstellungen zur Geschichte der Kirche auch ein 32 Meter breites Wandgemälde des Künstlers Johannes Grützke sehen.

Frankfurt ist die Heimatstadt des deutschen Dichters Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Das Goethehaus erzählt mit der originalen Einrichtung und einer Ausstellung vom Leben des Dichters. Von der Panoramaterrasse Sky Lounge der Galeria hast du eine grandiose Aussicht auf die Hauptwache, das frühere Polizeirevier, und die Altstadt. In der Nähe befinden sich die prächtige Alte Oper und die Frankfurter Börse. Die Skulpturen Bulle und Bär auf dem Börsenplatz stehen für steigende und fallende Aktienkurse.

Anzeige

Auf der Einkaufsstrasse Zeil befindet sich in einem futuristischen Gebäude die Shoppingmall MyZeil. Eine der längsten Rolltreppen in Europa bringt dich hoch bis in die achte Etage, von der du eine schöne Aussicht auf Mainhattan hast. Die Kalbächer Gasse wird auch „Freßgass“ genannt, denn hier findest du vorwiegend Lebensmittelläden und Restaurants. Regionale und internationale Spezialitäten kannst du täglich außer sonntags in der Kleinmarkthalle probieren und kaufen. Eine heiße Frankfurter Rindswurst auf die Hand ist hier Brauch. Gut shoppen kannst du auch im Europaviertel im Skyline Plaza. Vom Skyline Garden auf dem Dach blickt man auf den Messeturm.

Die Fußgängerbrücke Eiserner Steg wurde 1869 gebaut und verbindet die Frankfurter Altstadt mit dem Stadtviertel Sachsenhausen, dem hippen Partyviertel am Museumsufer. Wir empfehlen das Städel Museum, das 700 Jahre europäische Kunstgeschichte, vom 14. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart, zeigt. Zwei traditionelle Apfelweinlokale sind Zum Gemalten Haus und Apfelwein Wagner, die neben „Ebbelwoi“  typische Frankfurter Spezialitäten wie die legendäre Grüne Sauce, Handkäs‘ mit Musik (komischer Name!) und Rippchen mit Kraut servieren. Von den vielen Brücken erhältst du immer wieder neue Perspektiven auf die Mainhattan Skyline mit ihren Wolkenkratzern, die auch im Abendlicht ein tolles Fotomotiv abgeben. Von der Aussichtsplattform des Main Tower im Bankenviertel kannst du die Stadt aus 200 Meter Höhe überblicken.

Anzeige

Zeige der Welt, dass du in Frankfurt bist.

Der Frankfurter Zoo gilt als zweitältester Zoo von Deutschland. Im Frankfurter Westend liegen gleich drei riesige Gärten nebeneinander und bilden die grüne Lunge der Stadt. Der Grüneburgpark mit Radwanderwegen, Spielplätzen und Liegewiesen ist ganzjährig geöffnet und frei zugänglich. Der Botanische Garten zeichnet sich durch seine diversen Biotope und die Kultivierung gefährdeter Pflanzenarten aus. Geöffnet ist er von März bis Ende Oktober und ist ebenfalls gratis. Tropische Gewächshäuser und Themengärten findest du im edlen Palmengarten, den du das ganze Jahr besuchen kannst.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Frankfurt

Die Altstadt kannst du fußläufig erkunden. Radfahren in der Umgebung ist ideal am Mainufer, in den Parks und im Grüngürtel mit rund 70 Kilometer Radwanderwegen.

Wenn du öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen möchtest, ist die Tageskarte schon ab der zweiten Fahrt lohnenswert. Bei der Parkplatzsuche hilft dir dieser Link

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte in der Umgebung erkunden. Heidelberg ist nur eine Stunde entfernt. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Die Mainhattan-Skyline erinnert an New York. Für einen Vergleich lohnt sich die Fahrt nach Frankfurt.
theTravellers Thomas und Cengiz
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Amsterdam in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Amsterdam in 5 Minuten

Amsterdam ist die Stadt der Grachten, der Freizügigkeit und Lebenslust. Neben Tulpen und Cannabis gibt es in Amsterdam sogar einen buddhistischen Tempel. Die Hauptstadt der Niederlande begeistert. Wir haben dir…
Bologna in 5 Minuten

Bologna in 5 Minuten

Bologna ist die Stadt der Bolognese-Sauce. Viele bekannte Spezialitäten stammen aus Bologna, das in der italienischen Region Emilia-Romagna liegt. Die lebendige Studentenstadt mit ihren zahlreichen Arkaden und Türmen eignet sich…
Florenz in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Florenz in 5 Minuten

Florenz ist die Stadt der Medici und der Renaissance. In der Hauptstadt der Toskana erwarten dich zahlreiche architektonische und künstlerische Highlights berühmter Meister. Florenz ist auch bekannt für köstliche toskanische…
Bremen in 5 Minuten

Bremen in 5 Minuten

Bremen überrascht mit mittelalterlicher und maritimer Atmosphäre. In der idyllischen Altstadt nach Kunsthandwerk stöbern, im Szeneviertel Rollos essen, an der Schlachte eine Hafenfahrt unternehmen und in farbenfrohen Parkanlagen wandern. In…