Düsseldorf stands for fashion, lifestyle and Altbier.

In Düsseldorf, you can let yourself be inspired by the longest bar in the world or stroll along the shopping street Königsallee. However, Düsseldorf has so much more to offer and one thing is for sure: In Düsseldorf every visitor gets their money's worth.

  • Travel period: 2 days
  • Best time to travel: from May to September
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

The Düsseldorf Airport has its own train station, which you can reach with the driverless Skytrain, and a metro station under Terminal C. Here, the S11 city tram takes you to the main railway station in 17 minutes to the city centre.

The tourist information  is located in front of the main station and in the old town in 'Marktstraße'.

Hotel

We recommend the NH Düsseldorf Königsallee*. The 4-star hotel is located in the city centre near the luxury area around the Kö and about 10 minutes on foot from the Old Town and the main railway station. Although the rooms are small, the top location and the price are perfect. Private parking is available for a fee. If you want to stay in a luxury hotel, we recommend Steigenberger Parkhotel*, also at the Kö.

Places of interest

Beautifully located at the Rhine, the old town is the cultural centre of Düsseldorf. More than 250 pubs cavort in the historic alleys, whose counters, lined up side by side, would make up the longest counter in the world . Altbier is Düsseldorf's city beer and brewing goes back to Roman antiquity. Many traditional breweries, such as Brauerei Zum Schlüssel offer insights into the high art of brewing.

Numerous clubs and discos promise long party nights and chic restaurants serve specialities from all over the world. Whether Cuban at the Palito, Lebanese (on weekends with belly dance show) at the Libanon, American at the Louisiana, huge burgers at the Space Burger or Mexican at the Casita Mexicana, you will find your favorite speciality here. On the entertainment mile Kasematten on the Rhine promenade you can even have tropical cocktails while watching the people strolling around.

Advertising

Since 1570, the town hall is located on the market square. Not far away is the Burgplatz with the preserved castle tower, where the shipping museum tells of the 2000-year history of Rhine shipping. Landmark of the old town is the Basilica St. Lambertus with its leaning tower.

The Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen deals with modern and contemporary art, while the Kunsthalle specializes in modern temporary exhibitions. A black stovepipe by Joseph Beuys juts out of the wall to match. The adjacent Hofgarten is the oldest public garden in Germany. The English landscape park with baroque style elements, sculptures and monuments was laid out in 1769. Art in the tunnel is the name of the underground museum, which exhibits contemporary works under the Rhine promenade.

The Königsallee is one of the biggest luxury shopping street in Europe and is the widest boulevard in Germany. On the "Kö", jewellers, perfumeries and designers show their glamorous goods. The trendy fashion labels can be found in the Schadow-Arkaden and in the old town.

The Heine Haus, the birthplace of the German writer Heinrich Heine, is famous in Düsseldorf. You will find regional and exotic products at the food market on Carlsplatz.

Advertising

The highlight of Düsseldorf is the media harbour. The Rhine Tower is the highest building and landmark of Düsseldorf. The tower carries the world's largest digital clock and has a viewing platform and a great restaurant with exclusive Japanese fusion cuisine. The symbol of the booming district is the Neuer Zollhof with its futuristic buildings by architect and designer Frank Gehry. In the exclusive Meerbar (Sea Bar) you can enjoy fish and seafood and the harbour atmosphere.

Classic remise is a paradise for classic car fans. Around 300 noble vehicles are for sale here and admission is free. You can visit Benrath Castle on a guided tour, admission to the park is free. The only Buddhist temple in Europe is located in the Niederkassel district. The EKŌ House of Japanese Culture is the center of the large Japanese community of Düsseldorf for cultural and religious activities. You can attend a tea ceremony or a workshop on traditional Japanese arts or just visit the Japanese Garden.

Advertising

Transport in Düsseldorf

You can explore the old town and the shopping district on foot . Düsseldorf has a dense network of cycle paths. You can get a cycling map at the tourist information. It is available here.

If you want to use Public Transport : For the city center the price level is A. The 24-/48-hour ticket is worthwhile from the 3rd journey onwards. You will find more information and a route map on this page

All available parking spaces including prices can be found via this link

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places. Cologne and the Ruhr Area are only about 40 minutes away. Book your car now via the following link:

The Altbier in Düsseldorf did not convince me as someone from Cologne, but the city is still very beautiful.
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Köln in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Cologne in 5 minutes

Cologne is the cathedral city - and also our home town. The traces of a 2000-year history lead you through a picturesque old town with the famous Cologne Cathedral and the Love-Lock-Bridge, which crosses the...
Bonn in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Bonn in 5 minutes

Bonn is a city of museums and science. The former federal capital Bonn is home to more important museums than almost any other city in Germany. In addition, the university city is a UN location and the birthplace of the...
Stuttgart in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Stuttgart in 5 minutes

Stuttgart - Car dreams between vineyards and Maultaschen: Surrounded by vineyards, Stuttgart is the home of two major German car brands. The valley location of Stuttgart offers many possibilities for excursions to the higher...
Hannover in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Hanover in 5 minutes

Hannover is not only a trade fair city, but also perfect for a short trip. Hanover is colourful, artistic and surrounded by natural oases, and surprises us with its red thread, green ring, blue ring, blue ring...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Düsseldorf steht auf Mode, Lifestyle und Altbier.

In Düsseldorf kannst du dich von der längsten Theke der Welt beseelen lassen oder zum Window-Shopping über die Königsallee schlendern. Und Düsseldorf hat noch so viel mehr zu bieten und eines ist gewiss: In Düsseldorf kommt jeder Besucher auf seine Kosten.

The World in 5 Minutes – Schönes Deutschland | Band 1

Das ist unser Buch zum Video. Es ist die perfekte Ergänzung für Düsseldorf und andere beliebte Städte in Deutschland.

Anreise

Der Flughafen Düsseldorf hat einen eigenen Zugbahnhof, den du mit dem führerlosen Skytrain erreichst, sowie eine Metrostation unter Terminal C. Hier bringt dich die Stadtbahn S11 in 17 Minuten zum Hauptbahnhof.

Die Touristeninformation  findest du vor dem Hauptbahnhof und in der Altstadt auf der Marktstraße.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das NH Düsseldorf Königsallee*. Das 4-Sterne-Hotel liegt im Zentrum nahe der Luxusmeile Kö und etwa 10 Gehminuten von der Altstadt und dem Hauptbahnhof entfernt. Die Zimmer sind zwar klein, aber die Top-Lage und der Preis machen das wett. Private Parkplätze gegen Gebühr. Eine teurere High-End-Class-Alternative ist das Steigenberger Parkhotel*, ebenfalls an der Kö.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Wunderschön am Rhein gelegen, bildet die Altstadt das kulturelle Zentrum von Düsseldorf. In den historischen Gässchen tummeln sich über 250 Kneipen, deren Theken aneinandergereiht die längste Theke der Welt bilden würden. Altbier ist das Düsseldorfer Stadtbier und das Brauen geht zurück bis in die römische Antike. Viele Traditionsbrauereien wie die Brauerei Zum Schlüssel bieten Einblicke in die Braukunst an.

Zahlreiche Clubs und Diskotheken versprechen lange Partynächte und schicke Restaurants servieren Spezialitäten aus der ganzen Welt. Ob kubanisch im Palito, libanesisch (am Wochenende mit Bauchtanz-Show) im Libanon, amerikanisch im Louisiana, intergalaktische Burger im Space Burger oder mexikanisch im Casita Mexicana, hier findest du deine Lieblingsspezialität. Auf der Vergnügungsmeile Kasematten an der Rheinuferpromenade kannst du sogar mit Rheinblick leckere Cocktails trinken.

Anzeige

Seit 1570 befindet sich das Rathaus am Marktplatz. Unweit liegt der Burgplatz mit dem erhaltenen Schlossturm, in dem das Schifffahrtsmuseum von der 2000-jährigen Geschichte der Rheinschifffahrt erzählt. Wahrzeichen der Altstadt ist die Basilika St. Lambertus mit ihrem schiefen Turm.

Die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen befasst sich mit moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst, während die Kunsthalle gegenüber auf moderne Wechselausstellungen spezialisiert ist. Passend dazu ragt ein schwarzes Ofenrohr von Joseph Beuys aus der Wand. Der angrenzende Hofgarten ist der älteste Volksgarten von Deutschland. Der englische Landschaftspark mit barocken Stilelementen, Skulpturen und Denkmälern wurde 1769 angelegt. Kunst im Tunnel nennt sich das unterirdische Museum, das unter der Rheinuferpromenade zeitgenössische Werke ausstellt.

Die Königsallee zählt zu den führenden Luxus-Einkaufsstraßen in Europa und ist der breiteste Boulevard in Deutschland. Auf der „Kö“ zeigen Juweliere, Parfümerien und renommierte Designer ihre glamouröse Ware. Die trendigen Modelabels findest du in den Schadow-Arkaden und in der Altstadt.

Rund um Literatur geht es im Heine Haus, dem Geburtshaus des deutschen Schriftstellers Heinrich Heine. Regionale und exotische Produkte findest du von Montag bis Samstag auf dem Foodmarkt Carlsplatz.

Anzeige

Zeige der Welt, dass du in Düsseldorf bist.

Highlight von Düsseldorf ist der Medienhafen. Der Rheinturm ist das höchste Bauwerk und Wahrzeichen der NRW-Landeshauptstadt. Der Fernsehturm trägt die weltgrößte Digitaluhr und besitzt eine Aussichtsplattform sowie ein Dreh-Restaurant mit exklusiver japanischer Fusionsküche. Symbol des boomenden Stadtteils ist der Neue Zollhof mit den futuristischen Gebäuden des Architekten und Designers Frank Gehry. In der exklusiven Meerbar kannst du Fisch und Meeresfrüchte und die Hafenatmosphäre genießen.

Classic remise ist ein Paradies für Oldtimerfans. Rund 300 edle Fahrzeuge stehen hier zum Verkauf und der Eintritt ist frei. Das prachtvolle Schloss Benrath ist ein bedeutendes ar­chi­tek­to­ni­sches Ge­samt­kunst­werk. Das Schloss kannst du in einer Führung besichtigen, für die denkmalgeschützte Parkanlage ist der Eintritt kostenlos. Der einzige buddhistische Tempel von Europa steht im Stadtteil Niederkassel. Das EKŌ-Haus der japanischen Kultur dient der großen japanischen Gemeinde von Düsseldorf zum kulturellen und religiösen Austausch. Du kannst an einer Teezeremonie oder einem Workshop zu traditionellen japanischen Künsten teilnehmen oder einfach nur den Japanischen Garten besuchen.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Düsseldorf

Die Altstadt und das Shoppingviertel kannst du zu Fuß erkunden. Düsseldorf hat ein dichtes Radwegenetz. Eine Radfahrkarte erhältst du bei der Touristeninformation. Infos gibt es hier.

Wenn du öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen möchtest: Für Düsseldorf-Mitte/Nord gilt die Preisstufe A. Das 24-/48-Stunden-Ticket lohnt sich schon ab der 3. Fahrt. Infos und einen Streckennetzplan gibt es hier auf dieser Seite

Alle freien Parkplätze inklusive Preisangabe findest du unter folgendem Link

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte erkunden. Köln und das Ruhrgebiet sind nur etwa 40 Minuten entfernt. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Das Altbier in Düsseldorf hat mich als Kölner nicht überzeugt, aber die Stadt ist trotzdem sehr schön.
Thomas Hilbrecht theTravellers Reiseblog
Thomas
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Aachen in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Aachen in 5 Minuten

Aachen ist eine Großstadt mit kleinen Entfernungen – perfekt für einen Wochenend-Trip! Studentenstadt, Printenparadies, Dreiländereck. In Aachen spürst Du das grenzenlose Europa an jeder Ecke. Deshalb gehört Aachen für uns…
Münster in 5 Minuten Reiseblog

Münster in 5 Minuten

Münster ist die Postkarte unter den Städten im Westen von Deutschland. Münster ist ein super Reiseziel für junge Menschen. Die Stadt wurde wegen ihrer hohen Lebensqualität mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Die meisten…
Mallorca in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Mallorca in 5 Minuten

Blauer Himmel, wunderschöne kleine Dörfer, einzigartige Natur. Willkommen auf der Lieblingsinsel der Deutschen! Mallorca ist sehr vielseitig und bietet sowohl für Familien als auch für Naturfreunde und Partyfans den perfekten…