Berlin is as diverse and lively as its history.

Berlin is constantly changing. You can discover the old and the new districts of Berlin again and again. The capital of Germany unites citizens from over 190 nations and the multicultural atmosphere ensures creativity, culinary delights and a great nightlife.

The World in 5 Minutes – Schönes Deutschland | Book 1

This is our Book for the video. It is the perfect addition for Berlin and other popular cities in Germany.

Arrival

Berlin has a new airport. The BER, Berlin Airport. From the airport, the FEX takes less than 30 minutes to the main railway stationTourist Info Center are located at the airport, at the main train station, near important sights and in all parts of the city.

Hotel

We recommend Abba Berlin Hotel*. The 4-star accommodation is located on Kurfürstendamm, only a few minutes walk from the underground station and has private parking. A good alternative is the Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte*. The 4-star location is on the banks of the Spree and within walking distance of the Brandenburg Gate.

Places of interest

The German Parliament is a must on your visit to Berlin. Admission is free, but we recommend that you book your ticket in advance, which includes a 90-minute guided tour, including the glass dome and roof terrace. The Reichstag is one of Berlin's most important landmarks and with three million visitors a year it is one of the most visited sights in the world. Eight times larger than the White House, the glass Federal Government is the world's largest government building. The Brandenburg Gate is considered a symbol of reunification and is a landmark of the capital. More than 2,700 concrete steles at the Holocaust Memorialcommemorate the Jewish victims of the Second World War.

Once the Berlin Wall ran across the Potsdamer Platz, as a metal strip on the ground shows. Today you can find futuristic architecture, a German Walk of Fame and Germany's first traffic light in this busy place. In the interactive German Spy Museum you can decipher secret codes and hack your favourite website. Some spy thrillers are set in the former German-German border crossing Checkpoint Charlie. At the Trabi Museum you can find out everything about the cult vehicle and the tools used in escape attempts. At TrabiWorld you can then take your Trabi on a guided tour through Berlin.

Advertising

The Friedrichstraße is Berlin's luxury shopping mile. In the Galeries Lafayette you will find mainly French products and the Glaspalast Quartier 206 is an art-fashion house at its best. Next door on Gendarmenmarkt is the Berlin Concert House between the French Cathedral with the Huguenot Museum and the German Cathedral with an exhibition of the German Bundestag (free admission).

A great photo motif is also the Berlin Cathedral at the Lustgarten on the Museum Island where a day ticket gives you entry to all five museums, which present over 6,000 years of art history from Egypt, Byzantium and Berlin. On the other side of the Spree, the GDR Museum turns the clock back in time when Trabis were still driving through the streets.

The highest publicly accessible building in Europe is the TV tower on Alexanderplatz, the biggest square in Germany. The longest open-air gallery in the world, the East Side Gallerymarks a 1.3-kilometer-long section of the Berlin Wall, which was painted by 118 artists from 21 countries. Dramatic history is also commemorated at the Berlin Wall Memorial.

Advertising

Show the world that you are in Berlin.

Many workers used to live in the Hackeschen Höfen . Nowadays, boutiques, galleries and manufactories are located behind the beautiful art nouveau facades and you can chill out in nice cafés. World famous is the magnificent boulevard Kurfürstendamm, a shopping mile in the district of Charlottenburg. Here you will find many theatres, cafés and the luxurious boutiques of the many designers. Close to the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche there is also the famous Kaufhaus des Westens. The KaDeWe is the biggest department store in Europe. So you should bring plenty of time to stroll around on all seven floors.

Berlin has more green than built-up areas. The Tiergarten is perfect for cycling or for a romantic walk in the light of historic gas lanterns at its western end. Nearby, the restaurant Schleusenkrug serves breakfast, hot meals and grilled dishes as well as tarte flambée specialties. The best place to spend a summer beach day is the Strandbad Wannsee where you'll chill in the sand under palm trees. We also recommend the peacock island in the Havel, where peacocks strut in the idyllic castle park.

You can eat well and cheaply in the trendy district Kreuzberg. An absolute cult is the Curry 36, which serves curry sausage in classic, organic and vegan style. From here you can already see the queue in front of Mustafa’s Gemüse Kebapto taste the most famous kebab of Berlin. You can select your own Sudanese street food at the Sahara Imbiss . Unusual breakfasts and Israeli specialities until late in the evening are available at Benedict . Traditional Berlin specialties are available at the Alt-Berliner Wirtshaus.

Last but not least: Just a few kilometers from Berlin city center, you will find Europe’s biggest tropical vacation world Tropical Islands . Tropical Islands.

Advertising

Getting around in Berlin

The Berlin public transport system is well developed. A day ticket is worthwhile from the third journey onwards and the 7-day ticket from the fourth day onwards. The city centre is not very bicycle-friendly, but along the river Spree and the numerous lakes or through the Tiergarten it is definitely worth a trip by bike. You can find tour suggestions here.

This link will help you to find a parking space: parking space.

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places in the area. Dresden and Leipzig are only two hours away. Book your car now via the following link:

Berlin is a city of unlimited possibilities. It is especially beautiful in summer.
theTravellers Thomas und Cengiz
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers

New articles in the travel blog

Lüttich in 5 Minuten

Liège in 5 minutes

Liège, a city in Belgium. A lifestyle. Liège is located in the heart of Europe and just an hour away from Brussels or Cologne. And there is everything here for a perfect weekend trip. We show you our highlights in our video Liège in 5 minutes.
Aachen in 5 Minuten

Aachen in 5 minutes

Aachen is one of our top 10 cities in Germany and worth a visit. Aachen Cathedral is world-famous. And so are the tasty Printen. Aachen is located at the border triangle of Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany. Because of this location, you can feel Europe everywhere you go. We are theTravellers and show you Aachen in 5 minutes.
Münster in 5 Minuten

Münster in 5 minutes

Münster is a destination for young people. The city has been honoured several times for its high quality of life. Most people travel here by bike, for example on the five-kilometer-long promenade or around the lake "Aasee".
Helsinki in 5 Minuten

Helsinki in 5 minutes

Helsinki is the capital of Finland. The lively city in the north of Europe has a lot to offer: With its many saunas, beautiful islands and large green parks, Helsinki is truly worth seeing. During your trip you will experience true hospitality and very relaxed and happy Finns.

Berlin ist so vielseitig und lebhaft wie seine Geschichte.

Berlin befindet sich in stetigem Wandel und so kannst du Altes und Neues zugleich entdecken. Die Hauptstadt von Deutschland vereint Bürger aus über 190 Nationen und die multikulturelle Atmosphäre sorgt für Kreativität, kulinarische Hochgenüsse und ein abwechslungsreiches Nachtleben.

Anreise

Berlin hat einen neuen Flughafen. Den BER, Berlin Airport. Vom Flughafen fährt der FEX in unter 30 Minuten zum HauptbahnhofTourist Info-Center gibt es am Flughafen, am Hauptbahnhof, in der Nähe von wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten sowie in vielen Stadtteilen.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das Abba Berlin Hotel*. Die 4-Sterne-Unterkunft liegt am Kurfürstendamm, nur wenige Gehminuten von der U-Bahn-Haltestelle entfernt und verfügt über private Parkplätze. Eine gute Alternative ist das Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte*. Die 4-Sterne-Location liegt an der Spree und fußläufig zum Brandenburger Tor.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Der Deutsche Bundestag ist ein Muss bei deinem Berlin-Besuch. Der Eintritt ist frei, aber wir empfehlen dir eine Voranmeldung, die eine 90-minütige Führung, gegebenenfalls die Teilnahme an einer Plenarsitzung sowie die Besichtigung der gläsernen Kuppel und der Dachterrasse beinhaltet. Der Reichstag zählt zu den bedeutendsten Wahrzeichen von Berlin und ist mit jährlich drei Millionen Besuchern eine der meist besuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Welt. Achtmal größer als das Weiße Haus ist das gläserne Bundeskanzleramt das weltweit größte Regierungsgebäude. Das Brandenburger Tor am Pariser Platz gilt als Symbol der Wiedervereinigung und ist ein Wahrzeichen der Hauptstadt. Vor dem Bau viel diskutiert und präsenter denn je ist das Holocaust Mahnmal. Über 2700 Betonstelen erinnern an die jüdischen Opfer im Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Einst verlief die Berliner Mauer über den Potsdamer Platz, wie ein Metallstreifen am Boden zeigt. Heute findest du an diesem geschäftigen Ort futuristische Architektur, einen deutschen Walk of Fame und die erste Verkehrsampel Deutschlands. Im interaktiven Deutschen Spionagemuseum kannst du Geheimcodes dechiffrieren und deine Lieblings-Website hacken. Schauplatz einiger Spionagethriller ist der ehemalige deutsch-deutsche Grenzübergang Checkpoint Charlie. Im Trabi-Museum erfährst du alles über das Kultfahrzeug und die eingesetzten Hilfsmittel bei Fluchtversuchen. Bei TrabiWorld kannst du anschließend mit deinem Trabi zu einer geführten Tour durch Berlin starten.

Anzeige

Die Friedrichstraße ist Berlins Luxus-Einkaufsmeile. In den Galeries Lafayette findest du vorwiegend französische Produkte und der Glaspalast Quartier 206 ist ein Art-Fashion-House vom Feinsten. Nebenan befindet sich am Gendarmenmarkt das Berliner Konzerthaus zwischen dem Französischen Dom mit dem Hugenottenmuseum und dem Deutschen Dom mit einer Ausstellung des Deutschen Bundestages (freier Eintritt).

Ein tolles Fotomotiv ist auch der Berliner Dom am Lustgarten auf der Museumsinsel. Die Besichtigung der früheren Hofkirche der Hohenzollern beinhaltet eine Führung durch das pompöse Innere sowie die spektakuläre Aussicht auf dem Kuppel-Rundgang. Auf der Museumsinsel gewährt dir ein Tagesticket Eintritt in alle fünf Museen, die über 6.000 Jahre Kunstgeschichte aus Ägypten, Byzanz und Berlin präsentieren. Jenseits der Spree wird im DDR-Museum die Uhr zurückgedreht in eine Zeit, in der noch Trabis durch die Straßen fuhren.

Das höchste öffentlich zugängliche Gebäude von Europa ist der Fernsehturm am Alexanderplatz, dem größten Platz von Deutschland. Die längste Open-Air-Galerie der Welt, die East Side Gallery, bezeichnet einen 1,3 Kilometer langen Mauerabschnitt, der von 118 Künstlern aus 21 Ländern bemalt wurde. An dramatische Ereignisse erinnert auch die Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer.

Anzeige

Zeige der Welt, dass du in Berlin bist.

Früher wohnten im historischen Scheunenviertel von Berlin-Mitte in den Hackeschen Höfen viele Arbeiter. Jetzt sind hinter den schönen Jugendstilfassaden Boutiquen, Galerien und Manufakturen untergebracht und du kannst in schönen Cafés chillen. Weltberühmt ist der prächtige Boulevard Kurfürstendamm, eine Shoppingmeile im Bezirk Charlottenburg. Auf dem Reitweg der Kurfürsten reihen sich Theater, Cafés und die luxuriösen Boutiquen der großen Designer aneinander. In der Nähe der Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtnis-Kirche befinden sich die internationalen Modelabels und das berühmte Kaufhaus des Westens. Das KaDeWe ist das größte Kaufhaus von Europa. Du solltest also viel Zeit mitbringen, um auf allen sieben Etagen ausgiebig zu bummeln.

Berlin besitzt mehr grüne als bebaute Flächen. Der Tiergarten eignet sich wunderbar zum Radfahren oder für einen romantischen Spaziergang im Schein historischer Gaslaternen an seinem Westende. In der Nähe serviert der Schleusenkrug im Biergarten Frühstück, zünftige warme Speisen und Grillgerichte sowie Flammkuchen-Spezialitäten. Einen sommerlichen Strandtag verbringst du am besten im Strandbad Wannsee im Sand unter Palmen. Empfehlenswert ist auch die Pfaueninsel in der Havel, wo die Pfauen im idyllischen Schlosspark stolzieren.

Gut und günstig essen kannst du im Szeneviertel Kreuzberg. Absoluter Kult und schon eine Institution ist der Imbiss Curry 36, der die Currywurst klassisch, bio und vegan serviert. Von hier aus siehst du auch schon die Schlange vor Mustafa’s Gemüse Kebap, um den berühmtesten Döner von Berlin zu kosten. Dein sudanesisches Street Food stellst du im Sahara Imbiss selbst zusammen. Ausgefallenes Frühstück und israelische Spezialitäten bis zum späten Abend bekommst du bei Benedict und zünftige Berliner Spezialitäten gibt es im Alt-Berliner Wirtshaus.

Feiern kannst du in der Spreemetropole ohne Unterbrechung tagelang, denn es gibt keine Sperrstunde. Hier findest du deinen Partyspot. Last but not least: Bei Berlin befindet sich Europas größte tropische Urlaubswelt Tropical Islands.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Berlin

Der Berliner Nahverkehr ist gut ausgebaut. Ein Tagesticket lohnt sich ab der dritten Fahrt und die 7-Tage-Karte ab dem vierten Tag. Die Innenstadt ist zwar nicht sehr fahrradfreundlich, aber an der Spree und den zahlreichen Seen oder durch den Tiergarten lohnt sich eine Fahrt mit dem Rad auf jeden Fall. Tourenvorschläge gibt es hier.

Bei der Parkplatzsuche hilft dir dieser Link.

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte in der Umgebung erkunden. Dresden und Leipzig sind jeweils nur zwei Stunden entfernt. Buche jetzt deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Berlin ist eine Metropole der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten. Besonders schön ist die Stadt im Sommer, dann findet das Leben draußen statt.
theTravellers Thomas und Cengiz
Cengiz & Thomas
theTravellers

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Bologna in 5 Minuten

Bologna in 5 Minuten

Bologna ist die Stadt der Bolognese-Sauce. Viele bekannte Spezialitäten stammen aus Bologna, das in der italienischen Region Emilia-Romagna liegt. Die lebendige Studentenstadt mit ihren zahlreichen Arkaden und Türmen eignet sich…
Florenz in 5 Minuten theTravellers

Florenz in 5 Minuten

Florenz ist die Stadt der Medici und der Renaissance. In der Hauptstadt der Toskana erwarten dich zahlreiche architektonische und künstlerische Highlights berühmter Meister. Florenz ist auch bekannt für köstliche toskanische…
Bremen in 5 Minuten

Bremen in 5 Minuten

Bremen überrascht mit mittelalterlicher und maritimer Atmosphäre. In der idyllischen Altstadt nach Kunsthandwerk stöbern, im Szeneviertel Rollos essen, an der Schlachte eine Hafenfahrt unternehmen und in farbenfrohen Parkanlagen wandern. In…
Frankfurt in 5 Minuten

Frankfurt in 5 Minuten

Frankfurt am Main – Big Business und Apfelwein. Wolkenkratzer neben Fachwerkhäusern, dazwischen großartige Parks, spannende Museen und immer wieder neue Blickwinkel auf die Mainhattan-Skyline. In Frankfurt erwarten dich starke Kontraste…